Did Lord Krishna and Lord Rama really live?

Image Courtesy : ramanan50.wordpress.com

In a prosaic conversation with my brother the other day, he suddenly brought up a question – “Do you believe Lord Krishna and Lord Rama lived on earth?” In other words, were those incarnations actual historical events, as opposed to being only mythological?

I was initially taken aback by the question. Not because of any doubts, but because of the abruptness. I told him that it’s difficult to say what exactly occurred. My thinking has always been that there’s a reason we call the Ramayana and the Mahabharata “mythologies.” Proving the occurrence of the events mentioned therein is a formidable task, if not downright impossible.

So I said that maybe they did live but many of the events that we read about were created in the fecund minds of the authors of the age when these epics were written. He gave examples of the submerged Dwarka city and the stones floating in the ocean between India and Sri Lanka that are thought to be from the Setu (bridge) that Shri Rama used to reach Lanka. I said maybe they were created after the tomes were written, maybe earlier. He took that as a sign of my lack of belief in the existence of Lord Vishnu’s avatars (reincarnations). I told him that I did believe — spiritually — that the two lived, but maybe their existence is tougher to prove to the scientific part of my brain.

Then I thought about it.

I feel that it doesn’t really matter to me whether the two were real human beings or just figments of the imaginations of Messrs. Valmiki and Ved Vyas respectively.

To me, the idea of Lord Krishna and Lord Rama mattered more than the incarnations.

Image Courtesy : mensxp.com

The values the two Gods stand for, and the teachings they left behind for us to follow, are the real deal. Lord Krishna has given us many teachings through the Bhagawad Gita as to our conduct and way of life. Lord Rama is called the Maryaada Purshottam (The one who always follows the rule). They’ve taught us to live righteously, help the needy, not be consumed by vices and never back down from a fight when your cause is just.

Image Courtesy : mensxp.com

Following these dictums, and imbibing the values the two stand for, is what matters to me. Though to be frank, I’m a man after all, and I do stray from The Path at times. Well, it’s our weaknesses that make us human. Or else, we’d all be gods, wouldn’t we?

So, the question remains, did they really live? The answer is, does it really matter? 😊

I’d leave you with these two quotes from the Bhagawad Gita :

The senses are higher than the body, the mind higher than the senses; above the mind is the intellect, and above the intellect is the Atman. Thus, knowing that which is supreme, let the Atman rule the ego. Use your mighty arms to slay the fierce enemy that is selfish desire.
Reshape yourself through the power of your will; never let yourself be degraded by self-will. The will is the only friend of the Self, and the will is the only enemy of the Self.


I’d love to hear your views on this topic in the comments section. Thanks for reading.

23 Comments

  1. This is a really thought provoking post!
    I myself believe that we need to be grateful for the ideas and the values the mythological figures stand for.
    While it is interesting to try to figure out how much of the ancient texts are accurate and how many of the events mentioned actually took place, putting this quest above everything else would be nitpicking needlessly.
    So grasp the gems and accept the rest with an open heart.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. this is probably a never ending debate to prove that they existed or not?, but the most important thing that does matters the most is -KARMA , for me. while reading this article my mind was recalling an one liner from batman trilogy which was delivered like this -β€œIt’s not who I am underneath – it’s what I do that defines me.”so summing it up you are again a hero for me in choosing the apt words to express the thoughts of brain.keep coming up with topics like this :). one more thing……lets try to be what they(incarnations) did for the mankind. thankyou.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for all the praise. I would have incorporated that Batman line but I didn’t have it in my mind then. Would have made a wonderful addition. πŸ˜€

      Let’s hope we can do our bit to leave this world in a better shape than we found it. And that is a tall order!

      Thank you, again. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Love the subject. I like to believe, they did exist. Both in different times, the primitive blueprint of the mythologies existed. The authors, Vyas and Valmiki used their creative intellect over matters where we can’t scientifically comprehend, maybe.
    Also, like you said, the teachings from the texts, our beliefs make this query whether it existed in real time, feel trivial. One can go on pondering over and over; and only good things come out of it. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  4. That’s a really great post I must say! For me I believe religion is faith &a faith doesn’t need any proof. It’s like when you love someone you can feel it…you don’t really need to see and touch that feeling to believe it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am glad you seem less concerned with some personal interpretation being right versus doing right in your life via the information/examples provided. however you and i know well this might clash with religious leaders guiding for us πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Isn’t that the sum total of all religions, living one’s life to the best of one’s ability and nature?

      Even the Gods don’t ask you to follow them before living righteously (I think so!). And as far as I think, I didn’t try and contradict the religious order. Just put my own spin on things. I guess the religious leaders will also see that I’m advocating following the path that God(s) showed us.

      Thank you for the kind words. God bless. 😊

      Like

  6. Religion is a personal thing. Do you believe? That depends on who you are, where your were born and to whom. What you were taught, how you were raised, what values and morals you were taught, what culture you were born into. You are born alone and you will die alone, it is what you do with the time in between that will dictate your place in this universe, what you have done with the time you have spent here on earth.
    Where there is good, there is evil, where there is love, there is hate, where there is rich there is poor. You were born with free will, how will you use it?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

