Book Review – She : Ekla Cholo Re

Front and back covers of the book. Image Courtesy : Google Images/linkedin.com

I received a copy of the book via post from the author.
Santosh Avvannavar and Dr. Shayan Haq’s book, “She : Ekla Cholo Re”, is a novella with a message.

The protagonist of the book is Kusum, a young woman who was born as a boy but had feminine tendencies and behaviour. The focus of the book is on Kusum’s journey. From childhood to adulthood to the impact of various decisions on her life, the book tackles a subject that is often swept under the carpet or overlooked in our society.

The people who fight with their gender identity are largely left to fight for themselves. They are misunderstood or worse, bullied and abused. Kusum is one such girl. The book is set in the present day and Kusum’s story is told through her flashbacks.

There is a constant reference to a book by a famous psychologist in the book. It got irritating for me after a while. “Should I have had gone for that book before I started this one?” I thought with some displeasure. However, it paid off handsomely in the end. So maybe, I should have trusted the author more. And we also have reference to the famous Rabindranath Tagore poem, “Ekla Cholo Re.” Numerous times!

The book is under 50 pages. I personally would have liked a bit more setting and background on the characters. Maybe even some more description of the events that occurred in Kusum’s life. But ultimately, we have a book that tells us that it isn’t wrong to be nonconformist. The protagonist might be unique in her condition but the themes the book explores are universal. Here is the link to the author’s blog.

Parent Guide : There are some descriptions of sexual acts and sexuality, as is necessary with the subject content.

Genre : Drama, Contemporary, Adult.

Rating : ✔✔✔ (3/5)

Share your views and thoughts on the book (and the review) in the comments section.

Thanks for reading.

13 Comments

      1. No no. There’s this weird thing that’s happening with my WP account – people I’ve been following for months suddenly need to be refollowed (like you), posts or comments that’s i’ve already liked need to be re-liked. Worse still, some comments from followers go to spam, even when I’ve been sharing comments with them for a long time. My connection seems just fine. But this happens on both my app as well as desktop. I was about to post it on my website and ask people if they faced something similar. Have u?

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I don’t think I’ve faced that. However, I know one person who has. Maybe you should use the Help option in the app or mail the WP guys or post a review of the app on the Play Store. The developers must have an idea why that is happening. It is irritating when something of this sort happens so I guess you should get in contact with them.
          Hope you have a quick resolution of the whole issue. 😊

          Liked by 1 person

  1. Thanks. I’ve already written about the app but I guess I’ll try the Help option too. It’s rather embarrassing when people who think I’ve been following them suddenly get a follow from me after days of exchanging comments. I think I should write a post and apologize too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I knew that there would have been some technical issue (or maybe you got bored of my rants 😝 ) so I don’t mind it. But yes, you can post on how it’s mentally taxing for you and others who have suffered like you to do it all over again. See there, that’s the idea for your new post! 😁😁

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The book certainly sounds interesting from the review. The fact that it is a novella and explores themes that are universal should make it a breezy read with some gems gleaned from it.
    I am interested in how the quoted book fits into the narrative… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

